MEETING OF THE SPECIAL TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD APPROVED MINUTES May 7, 2025

The meeting was called to order by Joaquin Rodriguez, Chair of the Transportation Project Advisory Committee, at 1.33 p.m., at 211 N. Florence El Paso TX 79901 Suite 202 MPO conference room also conducted telephonically and by video conference. Members in attendance were:

TPAC Voting Members Present:			TPAC Voting Members Absent:	
1.	Anthony Turner	Town of Anthony, TX	Joshua Stanley	UTEP
2.	Marty Boyd	TXDOT	Santos Lucero	Village of Vinton
3.	Eddie Conde	City of San Elizario	Gloria Ramirez	City of Anthony, NM
4.	Teresa Quezada	Horizon City	Ramon Cano	Town of Clint
5.	Tim McDaniel	SCRTD	Evaristo Cruz	Ysleta del Sur Del Pueblo
6.	Joaquin Rodriguez	City of El Paso		
7.	Claudia Garcia	Sun Metro		
8.	Harold Love	NMDOT		
9.	Michael McElroy	El Paso County	MPO STAFF	
10.	Daniela Gutierrez	City of Sunland Park	Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager
11.	Charlene Santistevan	Doña Ana County	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
12.	Lorrine Quimiro	City of Socorro	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Executive Director
13.			Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary
14.			Jennifer Moreno	Transportation Planner
15.			Nina Rodriguez	Transportation Planner

(Meeting began with 9 members)

Chairperson, Joaquin Rodriguez opened Public Comment: No Public comment

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

1. Consider approval of the minutes of April 2, 2025, TPAC meeting Presenter: TPAC Chair (EPMPO)

Motion to approve the minutes of April 2, 2025, TPAC meeting made by Daniela Gutierrez and seconded by Tim McDaniel. Motion passed unanimously.

- 2. Consider approval of an amendment to the Amended Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), and the RMS 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to:
 - a. Amend the NM 213 / NM 404 Interchange Improvements project (CN: E100322 / MPO ID: B608X) to reduce Fast Border State INFRA (SBSI) funds from \$2,772,895 to \$122,112, reduce National Highway Performance Program (NHPP) funds from \$8,916,029 to \$8,210,871, and increase National Highway Freight Program (NHFP) funds from \$13,914,485 to \$13,914,486 for a revised total project cost of \$69,247,469 in fiscal year (FY) 2025.
 - b. Amend the *NM 213 Widening* project (CN: E100321 / MPO ID: P621X-CAP) to increase FY 2026 National Performance Program funds from \$5,302,337 to \$13,306,586, increase FY 2025 Surface Transportation Program – Flex (STPF) funds from \$370,380 to \$1,808,526, add \$2,650,782 of Fast Border State INFRA (SBSI funds), add \$2,900,748 of FY 2026 Surface Transportation Program – Rural (STPR) funds for a revised total project cost of \$56,564,862 in FY 2025. **Presenter: Nina Rodriguez (EPMPO)**
 - Joaquin Rodriguez and Harold Love commented

Motion to approve an amendment to the Amended Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), and the RMS 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to:

a. Amend the NM 213 / NM 404 Interchange Improvements project (CN: E100322 / MPO ID: B608X) to reduce Fast Border State INFRA (SBSI) funds from \$2,772,895 to \$122,112, reduce National Highway Performance Program (NHPP)

funds from \$8,916,029 to \$8,210,871, and increase National Highway Freight Program (NHFP) funds from \$13,914,485 to \$13,914,486 for a revised total project cost of \$69,247,469 in fiscal year (FY) 2025.

- c. Amend the NM 213 Widening project (CN: E100321 / MPO ID: P621X-CAP) to increase FY 2026 National Performance Program funds from \$5,302,337 to \$13,306,586, increase FY 2025 Surface Transportation Program – Flex (STPF) funds from \$370,380 to \$1,808,526, add \$2,650,782 of Fast Border State INFRA (SBSI funds), add \$2,900,748 of FY 2026 Surface Transportation Program – Rural (STPR) funds for a revised total project cost of \$56,564,862 in FY 2025 made by Harold Love and seconded by Marty Boyd. Motion passed unanimously.
- 3. RMS 2052 MTP Project Selection Criteria workshop. Presenter: Lauren Taylor (WSP)
 - Joaquin Rodriguez, Marty Boyd, Teresa Quezada, Tim McDaniel, Evaristo Cruz, Daniela Gutierrez, Michael McElroy, Eddie Conde, and Eduardo Calvo commented

Motion to approve RMS 2052 MTP Project Selection Criteria, subject to the following changes:

- Safety: incorporate City of El Paso High Injury/High Risk Network into selection criteria;
- Economic Development: incorporate additional types of economic activity generators into selection criteria;
- Land Use and Transportation: incorporate a project's correspondence with a current active local plan into selection criteria, and add the San Elizario node to the future scenario map;
- Delete the 'Sustainable Funding and Delivery' category from the Project Selection Criteria,

made by Terry Quezada and seconded by Michael McElroy. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- 4. TxDOT 2025 Transportation Alternatives Set-Aside (TASA) Call for Projects update.
 - Presenter: Harrison Plourde (EPMPO)
 - Joaquin Rodriguez, Teresa Quezada, and Marty Boyd commented
- 5. Congestion Management Process objectives and network update.
 - Presenter: Robert Guthart (WSP)
 - Teresa Quezada and Joaquin Rodriguez commented
- 6. Update on the official cancellation of the CBD IV project (CSJ: 0924-06-562 / MPO ID: R307D) using \$12,016,000 of Category 7 STP funds in FY 2021.

Presenter: Anne Guayante (EPMPO)

- Joaquin Rodriguez, Teresa Quezada, Marty Boyd, and Eduardo Calvo commented
- 7. Adjournment.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:23 p.m.

The <u>next regular meeting</u> of the TPAC is scheduled at <u>1:30 p.m.</u> on <u>June 4, 2025</u>, the due date for submittal of agenda items, names of speakers, attachments, items for presentations, and Project Request Forms (PRFs) is no later than <u>May 21st, 2025, by</u> <u>3:00 p.m.</u>

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary for the Transportation Project Advisory Committee